Funding body information

Bath and North East Somerset Council

Address:
Bath and North East Somerset Council
Guildhall
High Street
Bath
BA1 5AW
Telephone:
01225 47 7000
Website:
http://www.bathnes.gov.uk

Point of contact:

Youth Bank, 01761 300302/300304., youth_bank@bathnes.gov.uk
Kevin Amos, Parent Support Services Manager, 01225 395202, kevin_amos@bathnes.gov.uk
Stephen Bird, Head of Heritage Services, 01225 477750, stephen_bird@bathnes.gov.uk
Delyth Morris, Public Transport Officer - Community Transport, 01225 477609, delyth_morris@bathnes.gov.uk
Jane Briggs, Strategic Policy Services, 01225 477579, jane_briggs@bathnes.gov.uk
Sarah Aitken, Voluntary Sector Funding Co-ordinator, 01225 477888, sarah_aitken@bathnes.gov.u
Equalities Team, 01225 396267, equality@bathnes.gov.uk
The Arts Development Officer, 01225 396432, peter_salt@bathnes.gov.uk

Schemes:

Bath and North East Somerset Council distributes a large amount of its voluntary sector funding through commissioning for services. Details of these opportunities can be found from the following link: www.supplyingthesouthwest.org.uk.

The council also runs a range of small grant programmes for voluntary sector groups, which are administered through different departments, as follows:

  • Youth Service
  • Active Leisure
  • Children’s Play
  • Education: Initiatives for Minority Ethnic Groups
  • Independent Museums
  • Community Transport, Car Schemes, Transport Advice
  • Environment and Heritage
  • Adult Social Services & Housing
  • Umbrella Groups
  • Arts Development

Bath and North East Somerset Council can be contacted at FundingandProgrammes@bathnes.gov.uk where they will conduct a funding search on behalf of your organisation.

Further information on funding from these departments can be found through contacting the relevant member of staff, as found above in the 'Contact Details' section, or through visiting the council's website: Voluntary Sector Funding.


Many local authorities are now moving away from grant-making and beginning to use commissioning as a way to distribute funding to the third sector. Local commissioners can be difficult to find and identify, however NAVCA have created a guide that may help: 'Finding your Commissioner'

Voluntary Sector Funding Pages:

Voluntary Sector Funding

Useful organisations:

Bath and North East Somerset CVS: www.banescvs.org.uk

Bath and North East Somerset Council provides a wide range of funding opportunities for voluntary sector groups, however they are devolved to different departments and are subject to frequent change; for up to date information, it is best to contact the relevant department that matches your project and find out what funding is available at the time.

On the whole, the council's website is informative and points VCS groups in the direction to funding. Application forms are also available to download and contact details for the various programmes are clearly displayed.

What is the DSC Funder Rating?


We need your help

Our ratings are by no means a final verdict, just a starting point to begin discussions about the voluntary sector’s experience of government funders. We are inviting all subscribers to share their experiences and contribute to the DSC Funder Rating. If you can help, please email us at ratings@governmentfunding.org.uk.